What Im really thinking: the fashion stylist

One 1960s rock star asked if she could have a pair of sunglasses and, before I could say no, just took them. They cost 300

People think my job is so glamorous, but it isnt. I work with a mix of models and celebrities, creating fashion shoots for magazines. Models are much easier: they are professional and never ask for freebies. Celebrities, on the other hand… One 1960s rock star asked if she could have a pair of sunglasses and, before Icould say no, just took them. They cost 300. Sometimes the labels who loan the clothes dont mind. And Ididnt mind so much, because Ilikedher. She was quite charmingin her rudeness.

Some people make it clear they dont want me totalk to them, or even look at them. One supermodel arrived three hours late, then spent another couple of hours looking at Twitter while everyone waited for her. Then she was a nightmare. She was a world-class bully, and said she hadnever met a stylist as rude as me. But I fought back, and she was lovely after that though she made me sign a non-disclosure agreement, not to talk about the shoot. Thats what difficult celebs do.

Another celeb turned up without abra and asked if I had one. When Isaid no, she started shaking me and said, How. Can. You. Be. A. Stylist. And. Not. Have. A. Bra? Iwas speechless. I always bring a bra now.

I have to try to kill them with kindness. When it doesnt work, Igoto the toilet, have a little cry andthen Im fine. With celebrities, Ioften think, Idont want to do this any more. But working with models, making beautiful pictures, Ithink, This is the best job in the world. It all depends on the pictures: if they look great, I feel proud, and I dont care how badly anyone behaved.

Tell us what youre really thinking email mind@theguardian.com

Illustration

Illustration: Lo Cole for the Guardian

Read more: https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2016/oct/01/what-im-really-thinking-fashion-stylist

The post What Im really thinking: the fashion stylist appeared first on Beauty Questions Information Answers.

Leave a Reply

